PSIsafe Cloud Backup and Restoration Guidelines

1.0 Overview

PSIGEN Software, Inc. (PSIGEN) is committed to ensuring the resiliency and availability for our customers’ cloud-based platform and the content we host. Our goal is to communicate standard backup and restoration services available to all PSIsafe Cloud customers.

We offer these guidelines to supplement our customer obligations in an effort to reduce the typical frustration associated with losing content you work so hard to produce and curate.

2.0 Scope

These guidelines will cover any content stored within a PSIsafe Cloud instance maintained and authorized by PSIGEN that were created or otherwise introduced via authorized methods such as PSIsafe Desktop, PSIsafe Web, PSIsafe Mobile, PSIsafe Synchronizer, and other certified applications.

These guidelines will not cover any content located outside of the system boundaries, nor content introduced via unauthorized methods

At all times, your End User License Agreement (EULA) and Cloud Services Agreement will dictate contractual obligations.

3.0 Backup Guidelines

PSIGEN provides the PSIsafe Cloud platform to facilitate content management and collaboration. As part of this service, content protections in the form of backup routines and restoration services are provided.

3.1.0 What Happens When You Delete Content

  1. Deleting a Document: Deleted documents are moved to the PSIsafe Recycle Bin. This is considered a soft delete until  a PSIsafe administrator or other authorized personnel remove the document from the Recycle Bin.
  2. Deleting a Folder: Deleted folders are moved to the PSIsafe Recycle Bin. This is considered a soft delete until  a PSIsafe administrator or other authorized personnel remove the folder from the Recycle Bin.
  3. Deleting a Cabinet: Deleting a cabinet is permanent and irreversible. A cabinet may only be removed from the PSIsafe Management application by an authorized administrator or the cabinet owner. When deleted, a cabinet is NOT moved to the Recycle Bin. Deleting a cabinet removes all content, folder notes, and other associated metadata.
  4. Deleting a Document Template: Deleting a document template is permanent and irreversible. A template may only be removed from the PSIsafe Management application by an authorized administrator or template owner. When deleted, a document template is NOT moved to the Recycle Bin. Deleting a document template removes any mappings to filed documents. Should documents require editing later, they will require refiling with a new template.

3.2.0 PSIsafe Recycle Bin

When you first choose to delete a document or a folder, it will be placed in the PSIsafe Recycle Bin. The PSIsafe Recycle Bin is a key feature that we consider the frontline in data protection and restoration. The Recycle Bin functions similarly to how the feature would function in any modern operating system; when a file is deleted from the system it is then “moved” to the Recycle Bin as a “soft delete”. Users are quickly able to find and restore any accidentally lost content within minutes.

By default, deleted content located within the Recycle Bin may only be removed by someone with system administrator privileges. The system administrator may authorize other levels of users to empty their respective content. Additionally, all delete functions are prompted with a “Final Delete Warning” to ensure nothing is ever accidentally deleted. This means, if content is deleted from the system, it is intentional. Please be careful.

3.3.0 PSIsafe Backup Routine

PSIGEN takes care to protect and preserve customer content. This includes the content itself as well as all of the data used to file and find your content. However, there is a practical limit to how long data restoration points are maintained.

PSIGEN backs up customer data regularly, using the following routines.

PSIsafe Legacy Cloud customers:

  • A data snapshot is taken every 4 hours.
  • Server images are replicated to another location daily.
  • Backup routine for SQL:
    • Full Backups – Weekly.
    • Differential Backups – Daily.
    • Transaction Logs – Hourly.
  • PSIGEN data retention policy is 14 days.
  • All backups are encrypted.

PSIsafe for Azure Cloud customers:

  • Storage Backups:
    • Daily snapshots, retained for 7 days.
    • Weekly snapshots, retained for 4 weeks.
    • Monthly snapshots, retained for 4 months.
    • Yearly snapshots, retained for 1 year.
    • Zone Redundant Storage (ZRS) copies your data synchronously across three Azure availability zones in the primary region.
  • SQL Backups:
    • Daily snapshots, retained for 30 days.
  • All backups are encrypted.

4.0 Restoration Guidelines

The PSIsafe Cloud platform is ideal for ensuring mission critical services are well positioned for maximum reliability. The PSIsafe Cloud alleviates the need for IT oversight, and restoration of lost content is possible with PSIGEN’s platform. You can think about this as your last line of defense should all else go wrong.

There are two, overarching events that will likely require PSIGEN support assistance: file inaccessibility and permanent file deletion.

4.1.0 Restoration of Files That Become Inaccessible

Should a customer encounter a file that becomes inaccessible, simply contact PSIGEN support and open a support ticket by visiting https://help.psigen.com. The restoration process is easy and painless.

4.2.0 Restoration of Deleted Content

The primary role of the Recycle Bin is to prevent accidental deletion of a customer’s files and folders. If you find yourself in the unwelcome situation where content must be recovered because you deleted it permanently, we will gladly help restore the content in question as a professional service subject to standard billing rates.

Because we know that everyone has a bad day now and again, we offer a single restoration event per year per customer code included as part of your normal service commitment for a document or folder.

4.3.0 What Happens When You Need Content Restored

  1. Restoring a Document: Deleted documents may be moved from the PSIsafe Recycle Bin. If content was permanently deleted from the Recycle Bin, a restoration of the document is possible for a limited amount of time (see 3.3.0 PSIsafe Backup Routine). The customer should open a ticket with support and provide document title, location/context, and date of deletion.
  2. Restoring a Folder: Deleted folders may be moved from the PSIsafe Recycle Bin. If content was permanently deleted from the Recycle Bin, a restoration of the folder is possible for a limited amount of time (see 3.3.0 PSIsafe Backup Routine). The customer should open a ticket with support and provide folder title, location/context, and date of deletion.
  3. Restoring a Cabinet: Deleting a cabinet is permanent and irreversible. When deleted, a cabinet is NOT moved to the Recycle Bin. Deleting a cabinet removes all content, folder notes, and other associated metadata. The contents of a cabinet may be retrieved but requires extraordinary methods to recover content. This event is not considered a traditional recovery event and subject to billable professional services for recovery services.
  4. Deleting a Document Template: Deleting a document template is permanent and irreversible. When deleted, a document template is NOT moved to the Recycle Bin. Deleting a cabinet removes all content, folder notes, and other associated metadata. Deleting a document template removes any mappings to filed documents. This event is not considered a traditional recovery event and PSIGEN does not offer services to recover deleted document templates.

Customers may open a support ticket by visiting https://help.psigen.com.

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.